Greg Giraldo’s Dead: How Does This Make You Feel?

Whether you realize it or not, you know who Greg Giraldo is. If you’re between the age of 21 and 26 and spent every day after school watching Comedy Central, then you absolutely know who Greg Giraldo is and have some sort of opinion about his many failed show attempts and final descent into “The Guy They Wheel Out for Roasts.” Either way, he’s the scruffy, sputtery standup that you’ve seen hanging out with other standups on O&A, the Howard Stern Show, and–yes–The Comedy Central Roast of [Insert Celeb Here].

The above tweet was how I learned about his accidental death… with some due-process Googling thereafter. Not that I would accuse JN of participating in faking his friend’s death, but I mean, I wouldn’t put it past them. For a long time I kind of ragged on Giraldo as an arm-chair critic of comedy. I feel horrible about that, but I’m not really in a position for people to give a shit about what I say so I’m going to try to get over that. Walking through Washington Square Park my freshman year I got pulled aside to do a man-on-the-street interview with him for a new show they were shopping. It was going to be a road show about celebrity college students and he was there to ask us kids how we felt about the Olsen Twins going to school under the Arch with us. I felt like I was feeding him some good shit, honestly trying to give him stuff to work with (read: I was trying not to try to be funny…that works right?) and he was flop-sweating his weight. I apologized and he said, “No, it’s me.” I’m not sure what that has to do with anything, the memory just popped into my head.

When you listen to him on the radio or on a panel, Giraldo’s always been one of the highlights to listen to as long as he was grooving, but you could tell when he was in the weeds and grabbing for dirty shit. Either way, it’s easy to see why he kept ending up on the dais for every. single. Roast. Even the Roast of Chevy Chase back in 2002. I always remembered Chevy being really, really pissed about the nobodies taking the piss, but on a good old fashioned YouTube dig, it looks like he’s mostly just giving it back? I don’t know, you judge for yourself.

I always imagined that good old Pierce was sincerely offended at the fact that comedian-cum-Roasters Lampinelli and Giraldo were making particular light of his failure when they were not themselves even high enough to fall. Good thing Fletch has a sense of humor.

Anyway, I felt like getting this out would make me feel better for being such a dick to Greg Giraldo. Okay, not TO Greg Giraldo, as I didn’t exactly know him personally, but now that he’s dead… well… Okay, I’m a hypocrite. Let’s eulogize him in the comments. And just because I feel like Patton Oswalt should be the mouthpiece and ballast for the entire world, here’s his take on the situation.

::pours one out with a salutary chuckle::

About chris
www.chriscona.com

One Response to Greg Giraldo’s Dead: How Does This Make You Feel?

  1. Pingback: Oh Yeah, John Stamos Was in the Beach Boys « Aright, Doom!

Leave a Reply

